FAKE MONOLOGUE

4 people standing in a circle. Each of them in different standing position. They are rehearshing protests to the Absolute. Dim light goes through their bodies. They are either live or die. Pale-looking faces smirk to each other. They try to tell their stories, what went to their past. Their voices echo as they speak. Once they speak, they fade. Once they fade, they speak.

Clara

Everybody dreams of heaven

I don’t

I dream of Hell

fade out

James

Everybody dreams of heaven

I don’t

I dream of Hell

fade out

Dimitri

Everybody dreams of heaven

I don’t

I dream of Hell

fade out

Ana

Everybody dreams of heaven

I don’t

I dream of Hell

fade out

Lights out

Within a second, there goes an inevitable-constant repertoire of Time

Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock

Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock

Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock

Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock

Dim light showers centre of the circle. A man goes forward and stand on the centre. This man is wearing all-in-white cloak. His face is pale, hard to see. He doesn’t stand for any expression. He talks in an almost whisper voice. In his pocket, a broken skeleton watch pointing in random direction. No orientation of time.

Puree

Tick Tock Tick Tock

We remember this. Since we are not born. I was enslaved to this. Tick …. Tock (pause). Welcome to hell.

No fire or steampot.  Just me and the Clock.

Tick Tock Tick Tock

Tick Tock Tick Tock

Silence

(Speaking in a low dark tone)

I used to dream about my unconsciousness

I killed people

I hide them in my grave

hm not grave ..

Cemetery…

I buried them alive

Beneath me.

Chorus

(4 people rehearshing their worship to Puree)

Raise up, whisper of the evil

Raise up, whisper of the evil

Raise up, whisper of the evil

Raise up, whisper of the evil

dig dig dig in the grave

dig dig dig in the grave

Feel the skin of the corpse

Hear the beat of the heart

Kiss of the death

Clara

1849 I was married to wealthy mayor

Everybody liked me but one

Miss Necro

She was called “Necro” for certain reason

There was rumor about Neville’s widow

Engaged with murder trial

It was her. She never liked people

Not when they are alive

She was most compassionate, actually

She just wanna make friens to people … when they are dead

She kept me and them for collection

In her bedroom

Raise up, whisper of the evil

I just want to kill her once more

James

I was a victim of my father’s dark ambition

He was a sculptor like Michaelangelo

He aimed at masterpiece

Of course it has to be that.

He wanted David more than anything

Then he’s been wanting something else

Me

He was desperate to show me and mother

His eternal devotion

A proof of love and care on earth

He wanted everybody to see that

I couldn’t remember the last time

I opened my eyes

It’s already closed

I just found myself performing silent play

Yesterday…

Kill. Kill. Here was already in the grave

Dimitri

I befriended with the Holocaust

15 years ago at the concentration camp

I was told to kill someone next to me…

I did not know this guy…

He was in a pain

He suffered the most because of the pressure

Yet I didn’ t know it well

It was like being punished when you stole

Loaf of bread

I am not sure why they did it

They just loved it

That night, somebody woke me up

From my sleep. Tied my with chain.

Took me to the dark, on a yard not far from the border

They said I was inobedient

I didn’t kill that guy

I fugured he was already dead more than he seemed

I told them I killed that guy for their sake

Then,

They ripped my hands of me body

They crushed my hand with Ogre-weapon

They sucked my last breath out of me

But I survived, and here I am now

Ana

I have nothing to confess

My life was among the upper classes

Should I speak my true feeling

If only I had one

My life was destined to be with aristocracy

Not every noble man was nice

He, as my father would introduce to me was an heir

To the throne

Good manner

Well-taught attitudes

Pleasant voices

Everything was perfection

Till one day…

He was good at trumph

He said he wanted to do tricks

Really good trick

Ace for good sex

King for black whip

Queen for throbbing kiss

Jack for mystery game

Red for sweet taste

Black for bitter taste

He threw the cards.

4 cards for each person

The player was only us

Open these 4 cards

What is the biggest count?

Mystery game, he said

Another rooom was pre-occupied

With every woman who got mystery game

But I couldn’t escape

They invited me to join them

What an esprit de corp

I am sorry I didn’t remember the last part

My eyes closed for no reason

and I couldn’t open it till now

Puree

Fu fu fu fu fu (Laughing devilishly)

Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock Tick Tock

Are you interested in my watch?

(Clara, Dimitri, James and Ana are looking at Puree’s watch)

(One by one, they look back straight)

This is the end of time

As I may presume

I set the time away

Befriend with no human

Fu fu fu fu fu (Fade Out)

Lights out one by one starting from Clara, Dimitri, James and Ana.

Meanwhile sound of Puree laughing still echoes endlessly

Artwork by Morten Bak A.K.A Ketchup Suicide
Leave a Reply

